I made my first attempt at scent mixing.  It actually is really a beta version, as it is not very scientifically drawn together.

There are two critical numbers for scents – the concentration at which they are noticeable, and their vapor pressure at STP.  Some long-acting scents havea low vapor pressure but a low olfactory threshold; they “last forever,” like calone.

Others with a high vapor pressure and high olfactory threshold come and go; these are the “head notes.”  I’d tried yarrow, which has a definitely short time period.

My blend was a bit rich on benzoin (the tincture).  I was afraid it would suffocate the mixture, but it was nice.

Rain starts out with freshness and flowers and earthy scent, and fades to a twilight smoky campfire after some hours.  I like it.

 

