Desire is a highly crucial element in marketing.  One can sell only what the customer desires, or has been manipulated to desire.  Aggression and competition are two methods that are used to attain what one desires.  But desire is something that merits consideration before explaining the methods.

Desire, in a Freudian sense, is, in the human metaphor, potential energy.  During a lightning storm, incredibly high voltages are generated, and they seek release.  They seek out the pathway of least resistance, to discharge the great mass of charge in the clouds to the ground, and release an astounding amount of energy by doing so.

The presence of desire in the mind leads to a consideration, an analysis conscious or unconscious, of the ways which desire can be discharged.  Potentials “like” to be resolved, in a sense.

In the Eastern relationship, internal harmony involves attaining the lowest energy state, by causing desire to be minimized at all times in all ways.  “Nirvana” is simply a Bose-Einstein ground state of the soul.  I am not surprised that in physics, the idea came from Dr. Satyendra Nath Bose, an Easterner in India.

In physics, decoction of potential energy is materialistic, factual, simple and governed by rules.  In human psychology, desire may or may not be discharged depending upon choice. Stripping out of Wikipedia,

Immanuel Kant (1724–1804) called any action based on desires a hypothetical imperative, meaning by this that it is a command of reason that applies only if one desires the goal in question.Kant also established a relation between the beautiful and pleasure in Critique of Judgment.

The “mental Lagrangian” goes on unnoticed in one’s head, as soon as one sees something and desires it.  If a path to achieve the desire is found, it then becomes a moral question as to whether to discharge it, to use one’s capacity in the pursuit of it – or to drop it.

This is all really important psychology for advertising and population control.

Think of the lightning.  The space between the charged cloud and the ground is an essentially infinite field, containing an infinite map of little resistances along the path from all points to each other.  As the charge steps down, it modifies each little pathway, until the electrically “shortest path” is discovered, and the charge pours down the lightning bolt.  A lightning bolt is a decision, not a choice.

Flying a kite in a thunderstorm offers the lightning bolt a choice – to go down the artificial pathway to the ground, or not.  Thankfully for Franklin, he did not fly his kite in such a way to make the string the “shortest path” to the ground.  He was lucky.

Manufacturing involves the substitute of the decision for a choice.  I should like to have something mundane, say, a coffee cup.  I may apply all sorts of useful qualities that I desire in a coffee cup – a handle, one that does not burn my hand, one that can be set down without spilling.

I can then seek out one that is available, and modify my desires to accept a choice available in the market.  I will purchase one with certain formal attributes that I have described here – I do not complain about non–essential qualities, which can be changed.  If I purchase the cup, it will likely be empty.  I do not want an empty coffee cup.  I want a full one.  However, it is not essential for it to be full when I purchase it; I expect to take care of that part.

Our society depends greatly upon substituting choices for decisions.  I, a physician, would like to work with X medical group.  But they do not have an “opening.”  I cannot work for that medical group until I work elsewhere, and shift when the “opening” occurs.

One begins to see how limited one’s decisions are by the offering of choices.  We will have a new President in 2016, and we are offered choices.  You may pick one.  There is no mechanism for deciding upon what aspects of governance will be exhibited by the next president – the closing of Guantanamo, the decrease of the numbers of military bases on foreign soil, the funding for the Park Service, etc.  Those are not decisions which I can ask to be satisfied.  I have a choice, and I depend upon that person to fulfill my wants.

Until one sees how much of one’s daily life is regulated by the choices of others, rather than the decisions of one’s self, one cannot realize the boundaries upon freedom.

Yes, I can spin my own coffee cup, I can place it in a furnace, have it glazed.  I can select whatever color and shape I want.  I am not at all bothered by the limitation of my choices of coffee cups, nor of coffee in general.  But I am bothered when choices are marketed to me as personal decisions, and when I cannot find an alternative.

 

 

 

